Seneca Nation commemorates anniversary of Buffalo Creek Treaty. May 17, 2019 (WBEN Photo/Mike Baggerman)

Seneca Nation commemorates Buffalo Creek Treaty of 1842

Armstrong: "We come here to affirm...our land, our identity and our sovereignty

May 17, 2019 - 1:28 pm

WEST SENECA, N.Y. (WBEN/PHILIP WARD) - The Seneca Nation on Friday commemorated the Signing of the Buffalo Creek Treaty of 1842. Dignitaries and guests came together at the Charles E. Burchfield Nature & Art Center in West Seneca to celebrate the treaty signed by the Seneca Nation and the United States.

The treaty restored Seneca possession of the nation's Cattaraugus and Allegany territories and also affirmed that the Seneca Nation will never be subject to taxation on Indian-owned lands.

"We do not gather here today to remember what was, we come here to affirm what still is and what it will be forever, our land, our identity and our sovereignty," said Seneca Nation President Rickey Armstrong Sr.

The Seneca Nation is made up of five territories: Allegany, Cattaraugus, Oil Spring, Niagara, and Buffalo Creek.



Comments ()