More states added to NY, NJ, CT quarantine list

14 day quarantine required upon returning from states with high COVID19 rates

Tom Puckett
June 30, 2020 - 12:41 pm
Buffalo Airport. December 20, 2019 (WBEN Photo/Mike Baggerman)

Buffalo Airport. December 20, 2019 (WBEN Photo/Mike Baggerman)

Buffalo, NY (WBEN) Governor Cuomo says eight states have been added to list of those where New Yorkers must quarantine for two weeks upon return.

"As an increasing number of states around the country fight significant community spread, New York is taking action to maintain the precarious safety of its phased, data-driven reopening," Governor Cuomo said. "We've set metrics for community spread just as we've set metrics for everything the state does to fight COVID-19, and eight more states have reached the level of spread required to qualify for New York's travel advisory, meaning we will now require individuals traveling to New York from those states to quarantine for 14 days."

The newly-added states are California, Georgia, Iowa, Idaho, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada and Tennessee. The quarantine applies to any person arriving from a state with a positive test rate higher than 10 per 100,000 residents over a 7-day rolling average or a state with a 10% or higher positivity rate over a 7-day rolling average.

The governors of New Jersey and Connecticut are using the same list.

The full, updated list of states on the travel advisory is below:


  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Arizona
  • California
  • Florida
  • Georgia
  • Iowa
  • Idaho
  • Louisiana
  • Mississippi
  • North Carolina
  • Nevada
  • South Carolina
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
Comments ()