Yale historian wins Parkman Prize for Frederick Douglass bio

May 06, 2019 - 7:52 am

NEW YORK (AP) — Frederick Douglass biographer David W. Blight and debut novelist Tommy Orange are among this year's winners of awards handed out by the Society of American Historians.

The society announced Monday that Blight's "Frederick Douglass: Prophet of Freedom," which last month received the Pulitzer Prize, has won one of the most prestigious honors for historians, the Francis Parkman Prize. Previous winners of the Parkman, named for the 19th century historian, include Robert Caro, David McCullough and Eric Foner.

Orange's "There There," the story of a Native American community in the Bay Area, won the SAH Prize for Historical Fiction. The Allan Nevins Prize for an outstanding doctoral dissertation was given to Jonathan Lande for "Disciplining Freedom: U.S. Army Slave Rebels and Emancipation in the Civil War."

AP Editorial Categories: 
Comments ()